Skip to main content

Topic: 1772cc engine and flyer tranny swap (Read 3021 times) previous topic - next topic

1772cc engine and flyer tranny swap
Hello there I met most of you at the club meeting this week but for those of you who I have yet to meet HELLO! I drive a white 66' with a 1300cc and am looking to get a little more meat under the lid. I'm buying a blue 62' with a 1772cc and a freeway flyer tranny from a fellow down in Medford. My plan is to pull the engine and tranny out of the blue 62' and to have Mike (DIP Beaverton) do some work on it. Once the 1772 is ready from mike I'm going to take my 1300 and tranny out of my 66' bug and replace it with the 1772 / freeway flyer tranny.  This whole process will be a lot of fun I think because I've never done anything like this before. I also think it would be a good idea for an article for the front page.

"1772 Engine and Flyer Tranny swap" - what do you think OldsCool? The old switch'eroo

I should be on my way up from Medford this weekend sometime so if anyone feels like dropping by let me know!

• Kev
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Hebmuller

Reply #1
1772?  Or is it a 1776?  Just curious...  Sounds like a fun shop day!  Oh, and you cannot find a better mechanic than Mike... he built my 1968cc!
"Our Faster is Faster than their Faster" as seen on a local motorcycle company truck...

Reply #2
1776 oops!
ha.

This should be a big improvment from my current 1300.... I hope.

• Kev
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Hebmuller

Reply #3
Like I said in the other post, about double the horsepower!

Is that the new motor?  If so, promise me you will get rid of the chrome engine tin!  Bad news, it holds in 10 to 20 degrees more heat that painted.  I may have some stock tins around...
"Our Faster is Faster than their Faster" as seen on a local motorcycle company truck...

Reply #4
Quote from: "Kev"
Like I said in the other post, about double the horsepower!